Monday Mixup: Snowed In Boredom Busters

With all the snow falling around us, and in some places more than others, you may have started feeling a little cabin fever. This could be especially bad if the little ones tend to be on the energetic side. So, I have some proposed methods to relieve boredom and stress until you are able to get out again.

Although these may not carry the “Kid tested, mother approved” label, I hope they do help out some.

Paper and Pen Games

More times than not I’m sure you have caught yourself spending more time on that phone or tablet than with your kids. No shame. We’ve all been there. With that being said, let’s bring back the old fashioned pen and paper to create some quick and easy games! Here are a few to start you off:

Dots: Make several rows and columns of evenly spaced dots. Take turns connecting adjacent ones together with a line. When four connecting lines create a square, the person who drew the last line writes their initials in the box. Keep going until all the dots are connected in boxes. Whoever has the most boxes in the end with their initials wins!

Tic Tac Toe
3D Tic Tac Toe
Hangman
A Picture A Turn: The name isn’t quite official but the concept can be quite fun. Take turns drawing a piece of a picture. It can be really fun to see what it turns out like in the end! The more people who participate the better it can become. You can also limit the turns to a certain number if you feel it necessary. Try having everyone use a different color pen or marker!

Board Games and Card Games

This may sound cliché (been there, done that), I understand that. Try to add a little twist on an existing game. Use only funny words in Scrabble, or combine rules from other games. Anything that may be of interest to your kids.

Physical Activity Games

Keeping those muscles moving when you’re stuck inside for days on end is tough. Maybe a couple of games that have your kids up and moving will help them from cramping up in front of the laptop or television.

Indoor Hopscotch: Never discount the magic of duct tape! On a sidenote, I used to believe it was called duck tape. If you have hardwood floors and some space, place your tape down creating squares. Actually, they don’t even have to be squares! Be creative, have fun with it!

Simon Says: Ahh the age-old game of “Do as I say, not as I do”. It never gets old when you speed up and catch at least one person off guard!

I hope these ideas were helpful, or even inspired you to think of your own! Are there any others not on here? Share them with me below in the comments!

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on January 25, 2016, in Monday Mixup and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

