Friday Foodies – Chicken Fried Rice

I always mention how I never have been much of a cook. I still do not consider myself even amateur. Is beginner lower than amateur? That’s where I am. But, and that’s a big but, I feel I have come a long way in the past few years. There is still plenty for me to learn, of course, and I am willing to take in all the information I can!

To me cooking is about personalization. Sure, much of it is “by the books” and comes from preset recipes, but there is so much customization one can do to any type of food or cooking style.

My point comes in with this recipe. In fact, I don’t even consider this a full-fledge recipe. More of a guide.

I ask you to take what I have done and change it. Add in different ingredients. Take out ones I used. Cook it in a different fashion that what I have presented.

Explore.

Create.

Have fun.

image

As I mentioned before, this is merely a guide, if you will, to cooking some easy chicken fried rice. No fancy ingredients, no tossing around knives, and definitely minimal use of dishes. Just follow along with my picutre guide, with a few words scattered here and there, and see what you can create!

image

Finding yummy chicken is essential. I wasn’t sure how it would turn out, but ours is already premarinated. That’s how we bought it. Feel free to use plain, or even marinate some yourself! Boneless is suggested. Cube it up and then set it aside for now.

image

I LOVE onions. If I could have everything (within reason) with onions, I would. Therefore, the amount pictured will vary among everyone. I know some people who will pick off onions from everything. So it’s very dependent on your taste. If you and who you cook for loves them, have at it! Otherwise, hang back a little. All up to you!

image

Toss the onions on the pan to fry up a bit. Again, this depends on taste as well. You can leave them longer and simmer down the bite.

image

Once you have your desired onion taste, throw the chicken in. Cook until the meat is white all over. Looks good so far!

image

Mix in some veggies. Here I have corn, carrots, peas, and green beans. Yum!

image

Pre-cooking the rice is key. Some like to cook the rice in the pan in other recipes for “one pot wonders”. But I like to cook it separate in a rice cooker first. Mix it together a bit to see the quantity. Like usual, start small as you can always add more later.

image

Now here is where the biggest experimentation comes into play! Add whatever you want! For me, it’s pretty much a bunch of soy sauce all the way. I have one special ingredient that makes the dish just a bit sweeter.

Et voici! You have some homemade fried rice! No need for takeout anymore. You can have it anytime you want now!

Let me know your variations! I ‘d love to hear what delicious other things you have put in!

image

Enjoy!

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on August 21, 2015, in Cooking, Foodies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

