Funfetti Bold Purple Cupcakes (Friday Foodies)

After a long while, I have returned! And with a new color in the Funfetti colored collection! The last couple months had come with a full workload, tests, and projects. But the semester is over! Yay! To help celebrate a little bit, I made some cupcakes. Yum! This time around we made Bold Purple.

image

Check out how it looked before, during, and after the package opened!

I was expecting a beautiful, bold purple, however…well, I’ll just let you see for yourself.

image

The mix was a weird grayish-purple. The picture shows more gray, so just imagine a tint of purple (even after the egg whites, oil, and water was added).

image

Here is a full picture of the cupcakes fresh out of the oven! Now, the previous colors came out looking bland on the outside as well, so I was hoping the inside of these would be just as bright as those! However, it wasn’t quite as I expected.

image

I cut out a small bit to fill with a cherry. As you can see the inside looks purple, but not as bright or full as I had hoped.

image

image

I used the bright yellow they offer for frosting to top it off! The color matched perfectly seeing as the purple wasn’t as bright. Which, in hind-sight, I am happy about considering I used this color frosting.

image

It felt so plain just putting the frosting on like I usually do, so I decided to jazz it up a bit. I used the knife to “tap” the top of the frosting and pull it up. Looks kinda cool!

image

Yum! Just one last thing, sprinkles!

image

All done!

image

I used a fairly sharp knife so it made a pretty clean cut. The cupcakes did stick a bit to the paper, as you can see some small chunks left over on the liner. In the end, they tastes just as delicious as the next store bought mix (even though some would say store bought isn’t good tasting whatsoever – to each their own! 😄).

What colors have you tried? Let me know if yours have turned out the same, better, or worse. And if you haven’t tried them yet, give them a whirl!

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on May 23, 2015, in Baking, Foodies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Laure williams

    I did the purple before too and it was the same! I was pretty disappointed 😦 but I liked the blue when I did them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, I am making a cake with this purple, for my daughter’s purple themed birthday… came searching online worried that it was going to be a gray cake! :p You’ve alleviated my worries a bit. Agree, wish it were “really” a bold purple as advertised…. but I always get gray when I tried to make purple with food coloring too, so I know how hard it is! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know your thoughts!

