Friday-gami: Ninja Star

Using more than one sheet of paper can make for some pretty fun origami models! As we saw back in December, we can make flowers, like the kusudama I showed you. Today we will be using only two sheets to make a ninja star! These can also be called shurikens.

image

image

1. I will be using different colors for my tutorial, but it is not necessary for you to do so. Be sure they are square and the same size.

2. Fold your first sheet in half, then in half again so it is 1/4 the original length.

3. Fold the top corner so the top edge lays along the right edge. Now fold your bottom one. The top corner should be folded the opposite way as your bottom one.

4. Taking your second sheet, fold it the same as in step 2.

5. Repeat step 3, except be sure it is a mirror image of your first sheet. So if you folded the top corner of your first one from top to right, this one should be from top to left.

6. Having your pieces horizontal like shown, fold on the creases I have already made. The fold should start in the center of the paper. The inside edge of the triangle should along with the bottom edge.

7. Once again, the two should be mirror opposites.

8. Fold the other side of both. They other side will fold the opposite way of the first one. Phew! This is a lot of opposites!

image

9. One piece should be vertical, the other horizontal. One should have a flat front, the other shows the folds.

10. Place the one with the flaps showing on top.

11. Fold one corner from the bottom one so it tucks under the flap of the top piece. You will crease it flat.

12. Repeat for the second flap.

13. Flip your entire model over.

14. Do the same for the “new bottom” piece. I have shown one of the flaps being partially tucked in. Repeat for the final flap.

15. This is how your model should look when you have all finished!

Phew! This one seems to have plenty of steps, however it is relatively short when you actually get down to it. I enjoy making multi-sheet models that do not require glue to hold together! It still feels like an accomplishment, no matter how simple the model, to finish one and see how it retains its shape just with folds!

Have fun with your new shuriken! Make some more and save them up for International Ninja Day! You have a while for that, however. It is not until December 5.

Post some pictures to your social media sites using #fridaygami. I would love to see them!

Until next time…

~ Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on January 16, 2015, in DIY, Friday-gami, Origami and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

