Friday-gami: kusudama flower

As this is a scheduled post, I am currently sitting here taking a break from studying for finals. Since it’s been a rough couple weeks, I haven’t uploaded much. So here’s a quick recap…

First my husband’s jaw locked. It was a six and a half hour long process to fix it, including two hospital visits and one ambulance ride in between. Then our V had a terrible allergic reaction to amoxicillan. She broke out in hives all over her body that eventually spread from head to toe. Then the final week of classes and now finals week is upon us. Once this week is over I will be free until the end of January! Yay!

Now everything is better and way less hectic! So here is a fun Friday-gami to start us back again.

image

This one involves five squares if you want to have a full flower. If you are interested in the full kusudama, you will need 60 squares. Enjoy my background of lined paper, in celebration of this semester coming to a close.  🙂

image

1. Start with your color side down.
2. Fold up diagonally from corner to corner.
3. Fold the left and right corners so they meet at the top.
4. Unfold. Now take the bottom edges and fold them up so they meet the creases you just created.
5. Now open up one side and squash fold.
6. This is what it looks like.
7. Repeat on the other side.
8. Taking the triangles, fold them down on both sides.
9. Tuck them into the pocket where you just made the squash fold.
10. They should be completely hidden now.
11. Fold the left and right edges up so those flaps fold in half.
12. Curl the model in half and glue the two flat sides together. This will give the three flaps in the center of each unit.

Yay! You have finished one unit! Now create four more to make one flower! It takes 12 flowers to make a full kusudama ball.

image

I have not made a full one today, but here is my finished flower.

Let me know if you make one! I would love to see it!

Until next time…

~ Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on December 12, 2014, in Friday-gami, Origami and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

