Friday Foodies: Sugar Cookies

I am one day late. It’s nearing the end of the semester and finals are coming up quicker than I would like them to. But I do have this week’s Friday Foodie!

Whenever I think about sugar cookie cut-outs it reminds me of Christmas time with my dad. He always made sugar cookies for Christmas, and still does! I found this recipe on Pinterest a while ago and have been meaning to get around to making them. Recipe credits go to Make Bake Celebrate. Hop on over to find some more great eats!

image

Recipe:

3 cups flour
1 TSP baking powder
1 cup unsalted butter
1 cup sugar
1 large egg
1 TSP vanilla extract
Parchment/Wax paper

If your butter is not quite soft, DO NOT stick it in the microwave. Just chop it up into some slices and go from there.

1. Mix together the flour and baking soda in a bowl.
2. In a separate bowl mix the sugar and butter together. Once they’re blended well add in the egg. Finally mix in the vanilla extract.
3. Slowly add the flour/baking soda to the mix and blend well. You should end up with it looking like dough.
4. Take the mix out and knead it until you get a nice round ball. Wrap this up in plastic wrap and refridgerate it.
(My dad would always put the dough outside overnight since winters here are alwayd cold like a fridge!)
You want it to be firm, but not so much that it’s difficult to work with. I left my batch in for somewhere around 45 min…ish.
5. Now pre-heat your oven to 350°. Roll your dough out to a desired thickness and cut away! I can never seem to roll dough evenly. But I try my best!
6. Before placing your cut-outs on the cookie sheet, line it with some parchment/wax paper. Place the cut-outs on the paper.
7. Pop them in the oven. Watch them for 6 minutes and see how they look. If you feel they need a little more time, adjust by a min or two. Or, in my case, a lot. For some reason suggested cooking/baking times for me just don’t seem to work out quite right. I ended up leaving them in for around 17 min.  …yeah. But they came out great!

image

Leave the cookies for a bit on the cookie sheet and then transfer them to the cooling rack still on the paper. Set up your next batch to go in! Instead of using a spatula, you can just gently peel the cookies off.

I iced them with confectioner’s icing I made as well and put sprinkles on top for an added touch.

image

They look yummy and are soft! Oh, trust me, I’ve more than one tonight and had to pack them away to stop myself from eating more!

Until next time…

~ Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on November 15, 2014, in Foodies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

