Friday Foodies: Vibrant Green Cake Mix

I bought the aqua blue version a while back and had a post on it some time ago. A few nights ago I decided to try another color. V picked it out from the remaining colors on the shelf (orange, yellow, red, purple, and green – am I missing any?) then I grabbed the blue frosting. The blue cake came out awesome looking so I figured why not try a new color?

*Warning* photo heavy past the cut tag!

image

image

The front of the bag shows the inside of a wonderfully moist looking green cupcake. We should, of course, expect the same when it is made at home. Right?

image

The mix startled me at first. My first thought was “Oh dear! I have aqua blue by mistake!” But have no fear, the mix looks like this on purpose.

image

After adding in the egg whites and oil you can see the mix turns a nice green. *phew*

image

Okay, I have major issues when it comes to measuring. No, really. This was supposed to yield a dozen, given you fill each one only half way. Ha! I managed to squeeze out 8. And that was lucky, haha. 😉

image

While we wait for the cupcakes to bake, here is the frosting I bought. It tastes like vanilla but with the blue color.

image

Even comes with cute little neon colored fish sprinkles!

image

All set! They turned out a bit darker green than I had expected. However, they still had a very nice tint to them.

image

Did I mention I am a bit impatient when it comes to waiting for them to cool down? They were still pretty warm, but I wanted so badly to see how the insides turned out. Would they be just as green as the package shows? My kitchen light made it look a little brighter than thry actually were, so the coloring was not too far off.

image

Time to frost! I wanted to dee if I could pipe it on, but that ended up being a fail haha. The frosting gad a very nice blue color and I was very happy with it!

image

So, it turns out I’m no cake decorator…and I used a plastic sandwhich baggy. Oh well. The others turned out better with a knife!

image

The sprinkles looked so adorable on top. Oh, and no need to use sparingly! Especially when you only have 8 cupcakes!

image

I tried to keep V out of the picture, but to no avail. Her little finger dug right into one of them. She got a few bites of one quickly after this photo was taken. And yes, ended up with blue lips and fingertips!

All in all I am very satisfied with both colors I have bought so far. Both cakes taste like your standard yellow cake. I cannot wait to make some more!

Have you made any colors yet or plan on doing so in the future? What are your thoughts on them?

Until next time…

~ Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on October 17, 2014, in Foodies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

