Friday Foodies: Broccoli Salad

You wouldn’t think putting some mayo with a little bit of vinegar and a small amount of sugar would taste very good as a “sauce”. But it does. Haha. My sister-in-law introduced my husband and I to the wonderful taste of Broccoli Salad! It tastes amazingly sweet and the best part is, my hubby eats it! He isn’t much of a vegetable man. 😛 So why hold back the goods?! Let’s get to it!

image

Alright, so how is it made? Paula Deen created this wonderful recipe.

I bought some broccoli from the public market last weekend, two heads of it. Only one was needed. Cut off the large stem and then break the top into small florets. As for the leftover stems cut them up into bite sized pieces and toss them into the bowl as well. Take some cheese (I used mozzarela) and cube it. Now get the following:

• 1 cup of mayonaise
• 1/4 cup of sugar
• 2 tablespoons of white vinegar

Mix everything up with the broccoli. The final look should be milky white and slightly watery, but still kind of thick. Now as an added bonus, add in some raisins! All done! Simple right?

Dig right in! If you leave it to sit for a bit I have found the mayo-sugar-vinegar mixture falls to the bottom. Be sure to stir it up if this happens.

I will be able to get a printable version of the recipe up when I am back at the computer. Hopefully this will get you started for now. Enjoy!

EDIT:
Here is the recipe in a printable format!

Broccoli Salad

  • Time: approx 15 min
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Credit: Food Network

Ingredients:

  • 1 large head of broccoli
  • 1 cup of mayonnaise
  • 2 TBSP of white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • raisins
  • 8 oz. of cheddar cheese

Directions

  1. Wash your head of broccoli and then break it down into small florets. Cut the leftover stems and cheese into bite sized pieces. Place them into a medium sized bowl.
  2. In a separate bowl create the dressing by mixing the mayonnaise, vinegar, and sugar together. It should come out to look milky white.
  3. Add in raisins and pour the dressing on top. Stir well.

Until next time…

~ Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on July 25, 2014, in Foodies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

