Banana Bread!

I never made banana bread before, well, at least all by myself. My father is a big baker and loves to bake cookies for all sorts of occasions. So I decided, why not take my Pinterest obsessed self and look up a nice, quick, simple recipe for my first solo attempt!  I found a wonderful one when we were out of eggs in the house. Unfortunately, we ran out bananas quickly thereafter as I had forgotten to set a few aside. V loves her bananas! And then the waiting began until our next big shopping trip. Tick tock goes the clock! Finally, some more bananas! And off we go to bake a loaf of delicious bread!

The original post may be found at Life n Spice. I haven’t had the time to search the rest of her blog (insert sad face here), but I’m pretty certain that if she has this wonderful recipe, there are bound to be many others!

If you would like to just stick around here, I have some photos and the recipe coming right up for you to take a look at! Remember, no eggs were involved in the making of this bread, so if you are allergic to eggs or just don’t have any in the house it’s the perfect one for you!

Eggless Banana Bread

  • Print

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup butter (softened)
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3 large ripe bananas

Recipe

    1. Mash the three bananas and put them aside for now. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
    2. Mix together butter and sugar in a bowl.
    3. In another bowl combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
    4. Add this to the butter-sugar mixture and combine.
    5. Add the mashed banana to this and beat together.
    6. Pour into a greased loaf pan and bake for 40-45 min.
    7. Cool on a rack. Remove bread from pan and slice to serve.

This will yield one loaf of bread. My loaf pan was a bit larger than I would have liked it to be, but since I do not really do bread, like ever, I didn’t know how it would turn out. In the end the bread rose up just enough and still had some room if I made one and a half batches. All in all, the bread turned out to be just as moist and I could have hoped for and tasted so delish! I Just about the entire loaf disappeared before nightfall.

image

image

Some of my tips from my first time experience:

      • I kept the bananas in the refrigerator for a day. I wouldn’t recommend that unless you are planning of leaving them out for some time before beginning. Is that common knowledge and I’m just learning this? 😛
      • Using a mechanical blender may save some time for you. I went with manual labor and, while the mini workout was nice, it would have been much quicker with a blender.
      • If you are bread making savvy, then you should know what size pan the mix should fit into, if you have multiple sizes lying around.
      • I had to leave mine in to bake for around an hour. I am not sure if this is because of my oven specifically or if it is because of another reason. Well, looks like I will need to make a few more loaves before too long to test it out. Like I needed another reason to do so!

I hope you enjoy the delicious little recipe. I will hopefully be making some more things with recipes I will post up, although they will be borrowed from other sources in the meantime. I am nowhere near an experienced cook and I have yet to grasp how ingredients meld together to create wonderful masterpieces!

Until next time…

~ Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on June 25, 2014, in Baking, Foodies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

