Road Trip!

Monday, this coming week, we are going on a mini vacation! We are finally on summer break from school and ready to have a little getaway. We’re going down to North Carolina to visit my husband’s brother and his family. Yay! 😀

I have been eyeing a travel app on the Apple store (for iOS devices), but since I do not own an iPhone it didn’t seem worth it for download at the time. It requires a constant internet connection when on the road and my iPad needs wifi. But, I am in luck! It is now offered through the Play store (for Android devices), so I downloaded it on my phone!

Today I will be show you two useful apps if you ever find yourself travelling, either down the east coast or from New York to California. Keep reading to the end for links to both apps on the Apple Store and Play Store!

image

The first I present to you is RoadNinja. This is the app I hadn’t downloaded but wanted to. It shows what is coming up for you at upcoming exits. You can compare gas prices, find lodging, and search for restaurants. Here are some screenshots:

image

image

image

image

image

image

If your location settings are enabled it will find your exact location and give you distances to exits as they are listed, nearest first. There are plenty of options for “customizing” your search, some of which are food, lodging, clothing, and gas. Each location has specifics if you click on them and you are able to see where they are using the app’s built in map. There is also a cool Neafby Mode that allows you to see what’s around your current location. This is helpful if you are in an unfamiliar area and would like to see all your options. Unfortunately not every single highway is listed and not every state has an option either.

The next app is called GasBuddy. This one allows for users to compare gas prices. Enter a zip code and find the cheapest prices in that area! Here are some screenshots:

image

image

image

image

Users can upload images and gas prices, earn points for doing so, and cash those points in for a chance to earn a $100 gas gift card! If there is a place you come across that is not listed in the app’s directory, you can also upload the full information (i.e. gas prices, address, photos, etc).

I will try to review these apps after using them on our trip and let you know how they were. We are only moving down the East Coast, so that may make a difference for some of you out west or in the middle.

Here are the links to each app:

Apple Store: (for Apple devices, such as iPad, iPod, iPhone)

RoadNinja

 

Play Store: (for Android devices)

RoadNinja

GasBuddy

GasBuddy is only available on the Play Store at this point, so unfortunately you are out of luck if you only own an Apple device. But keep a look out for it on the App Store, you never know!

 

Until next time…

 

~ Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on May 15, 2014, in Apps, Life, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

