Friday-gami: Origami Sailboat

Hi! I bet you’ve missed my origami updates, huh? Well you’re in luck! I have the origami sailboat for you to make today. I promise, after my daughter’s birthday planning is over I should have more time to keep this as a weekly thing (not quite as sporadic, and definitely on the correct day).

image

This one is awesome because you do not need square paper! The base is rectangular, so go find some lined paper or a piece of printer paper and run on back!

image

1. With the long side of your paper parallel to you, fold in half so the left and right sides meet.
2. Turn the paper so the opening is facing you.
3. Fold in half again and unfold.
4. Fold the top right corner down so the top right edge meets the center. This is just like folding a paper airplane.
5. Repeat on the other side so you have a point at the top.
6. On the top layer only, fold so the bottom edge meets the bottom the the triangle you just formed.
7. Repeat on the back side. You can use the fold made in 6 to evenly fold this side up.
8. Flipping back to the front, fold up along the bottom of the triangle made in 4 and 5. Therewill be a little bit hanging over on either side. Repeat on the other side.
9. Notice the two layers and the gap between. You want to open this up and bring ghe left and right sides together.

image

10. Your model should look like this.
11. Take the bottom corner and fold up to an arbitrary point. Do not fold in half! Repeat on the other side.
12. Once again do the same as in 9. Fold the left and right sides together. This should be how your model looks after.
13. I am pointing at the corner to use as a reference point. Using this corner and the one opposite, fold the bottom edge up.
14. It should fold in half.
15. Repeat behind as well.
16. If you slihtly unfold the flaps you just created, you will see these triangle tabs. I am holding onto one of them.
17. Pull it away from the center.
18. Do the same on the other side.

image

19. Pull both sides just a bit more until it looks like this.
Done!: Open the bottom opening a bit so your boat can stand up. It may take a bit of fiddling around.

Check out that superb boat coming from your artistic folding! Let me tell ya, you’re gettin’ good at this. 🙂 I may have to start finding some slightly more difficult models to challenge you! Keep up the amazing work everyone! Just remember, if there is anything unclear, I’m here to help. Leave a comment below, shoot me an email, or find me on one of my social media websites.

Until next time…

~ Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on April 5, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

