Dol and Doljabi – The First Birthday

I was born in Korea, and within months I was here in the US with my new family. Yup, I am adopted! While my heritage does not play a leading role in my life, there are aspects I like to retain as best I know how. That being said, I do not believe I have properly introduced my daughter yet. Her name is Valkyrie. Just like the warriors Odin himself chose in Norse mythology. She is turning one year old soon and we have been on a party planning frenzy this past week…and then some.

A dol, or doljanchi, is a first birthday celebration for a Korean child. Years ago it was very common for children to become ill or malnourished and pass away before their first birthday. So it was a huge deal for a family to have a child reach the age of one. During this celebration there is the doljabi, which is when the child chooses from a group of items to predict their future. The traditional items are generally string for a long life, a bowl of rice for never being hungry, money for wealthy, book and brush for scholar, bow for warrior and strength, and medallion for politics. Additional items may be exchanged or included, such as microphone for entertainer, ball for athletics, stethescope for doctor, etc. For our daughter we are using only four items- book for scholar, pen for writer, calculator for mathematics, and stethescope for doctor.

The theme was chosen by me (my husband let me choose because he is such a sweetie :D). I decided that Doctor Who would be a great way for her to celebrate her first birthday! If you have watched the up-to-date series and have been through the 11th Doctor’s arc then I am guessing you have seen The Impossible Astronaut. If not, please go watch every episode right now and thank me later. Haha, but be forewarned, this show is NOT for everyone. It’s the type you either love or hate. And there goes my tangents again…lol. Oh, and watch Sherlock. With Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman. Alright. End of tangent.

Here is a picture of the invites we made. They are not masterpieces, but for making them at home I am pretty satisfied. 🙂

image

The invite on the right is a replica of the one in The Impossible Astronaut. It shows the date, time, and has GPS coordinates. Sorry, had to black that out since it is at a residence. The left one has the actual information since I know there are some people we are sending these invites will not understand the reference haha.

So that is what I have been up to. I am so, so sorry I haven’t put anything else up for a while. I am a procrastinator and I thought that this party would be planned for well in advance. Ha! Who was I kidding? 😛 I hope you understand and don’t take it personally. I haven’t gotten any freebies in the mail in a while anyhow, which is kinda sad for me. I love getting mail (minus the bills haha).

Are you very connected to your heritage? Have you incorporated it in your family somehow? I would love to know!

This was a great chat we had and I’ve missed talking with all of you! But I do have to run since my baby girl is getting tired of playing with toys in the pack ‘n play. Time to let her run free until bedtime!

Until next time…

~ Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on March 29, 2014, in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

