Friday-gami: The Waterbomb

I suppose late is better than never? Sorry, folks!  😦  If you read my previous post I let everyone know just how I’ve been feeling for the past few days. And if you didn’t read it, I will save you the symptom listing and just tell you I wasn’t feeling at my best.

Why wait any longer, right? Here is Friday-gami!

image

This one may seem like it has many steps, but for the most part it is repetition of steps.

image

1. Have your square ready. We will be starting with the waterbomb base.
2. Fold in half both ways diagonally.
3. Flip your paper over and fold in half both ways, side to side.
3. Flip it back over one more time.
4. Your model should “bowl” inward, with the diagonal folds as valley folds.
5. With any side facing you fold along the pre-existing creases. It should created a triangle.
5. This is half way folded.
6. This is fully folded. There should be two distinct layers.
7. On the top layer, fold one outer corner to the top corner.
8. Repeat this on all four sides and you will have a diamond.
9. Taking one of those flaps fold it own in half, but do NOT fold all the way across. Just make a small fold as a reference point.

image

10. Using that reference point, fold the side corner over to the center.
11. Repeat for all four sides. After you have finished folding the first one you can use it to fold the rest.
12. The top triangle will fold down and out. You’ll know you’ve folded it right if the bottom is parallel to you like in the picture.
13. Now fold the point to the middle. It should create a small triangle that does not go over the side.
14. Now that little triangle you just made is going to get tucked away. Lift it up and under is the triangle you folded over in 10/11. If you look at it from the top you can open it a bit to make a small pocket.
15. This is another view of the pocket.
16. Tuck the little triangle right inside! Do this on all four flaps.
18. You can now separate the four flaps.

image

19. This is what a completed “side” looks like.
20. From the top it looks like an X or +. At the bottom there is a small hole. Hold two opposite flaps very loosely and and blow into the hole.
21. Your balloon will look like this! You can leave it as is and be done OR you will notice the sides aren’t quite square.
Done. I made the edges a bit more square to look like a bubble square. All finished!

Amaze at your fun new waterbomb and make some for the kids!

Until next time…

~ Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on March 19, 2014, in DIY, Friday-gami, Origami and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

