Happy Pi Day!

Today is March 14, also known as Pi Day! Since the numerical version of the date is 3-14, it resembles 3.14 which is the value of pi to two decimal places. Now, Pi Day does not usually start its celebration until 1:59pm since Pi is 3.14159 to five decimal places, but since it is after that time I figured I could get things rolling with a post about it!

image
**Picture found through Google Images from Forbes.com

So what do you know about Pi? Well, you know the value, 3.14. Do you remember irrational numbers? Pi is one of those, meaning it has no end. 3.14159 is five decimal places but it goes on infinitely and never repeats. By never repeats I don’t mean there are no repetitions of groups of numbers. The difference is 3.3333…is a repeating, non-terminating number whereas 3.14159…is a non-repeating, non-terminating number. Let’s see, what else is there? Spock once foiled the evil computer in “Wolf In The Fold” by forcing it to compute the final digit of Pi. Now you know that this is impossible. In tge greek alphabet piwas (what we know as Pi) is the 16th letter. In our alphabet P is also tge 16th letter. The Hitachi SR 8000 computed Pi to the 1.24 trillionth digit in 2002! It took the supercomputer over 400 hours to complete this task! That is a lot of hours!

I don’t want to overload you on Pi facts so I will leave it there. If you are interested in more Pi facts here are a few sites you can visit:

50 Interesting Facts About Pi
28 Facts About Pi You Probably Didn’t Know
Top 10 Facts About Pi

Those are the top three sites when I googled “fun facts about pi”.

I hope you can celebrate Pi Day with your kids, family, and friends! In three months and 14 days it will be Tau Day and I will let you know all about that as well. Enjoy Pi Day and hope you learned some new facts!

Until next time…

~ Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on March 14, 2014, in Math and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Let me know your thoughts!

