Friday-gami: Origami Swan

Hi again! It certainly feels like it has been quite sometime since I have written something. The last post was all the way back on Monday! Lately the little one, my husband, and I have all been been sick with a cold. No fun, let me tell ya. We are feeling better today, though! For this week’s Friday-gami I wanted to go back to some basics, trying out the Origami Swan. It should be a bit easier than the previous lotus and bird (or at least I hope so). Do you have your paper square in front of you? Great, let’s get to it!

image

image

1. Fold you square diagonally in one direction then unfold.
2. Fold two adjacent edges toward the center crease you just created.
3. Flip your model over.
4. The two longest sides are folded in toward each other meeting in the center.
5. Mountain fold the model in half and turn it sideways.
6. On an arbitrary line, fold the left point upward. It is up to you where you want to fold it and at what angle. This will create the neck of the swan.
7. Unfold back to 4. You will see two creases that form a point. These are from the fold you made in 6.
8. Valley fold on both of these creases.
9. You will pull the point upward again while closing the body once more.

image

10. Once you have completed folding the neck it will look like this.
11. Now fold somewhere toward the top of the neck. It is up to you, again, where and at what angle. This will create the beak.
12. Unfolding again to 4, you will see similar creases.
13. This time you want to mountain fold on both of those creases.
14. Closing the body back up again.
15. All done!
16. Now take your swan and show it off, because I know you made an awesome looking one!

Was this one easier? Did you enjoy the challenge of the previous ones? I will try to stick with some more simple ones for now, and when the majority would like a challenge I can find something on the intermediate level! Let me know your thoughts!

Until next time…

~ Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on February 28, 2014, in DIY, Friday-gami, Origami and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

