Friday-gami: Origami bird

I will not lie, I went through this whole day so far knowing it is Friday, but forgetting about a new origami model! Shame on me. Therefore, this week’s Friday-gami is “Origami on the fly” from my college campus.

image

image

And here we go!

image

1. Since I am using lined paper for this tutorial, I had to make it into a square. If you don’t know how to do this, please take a look at how to before starting to fold!

2. If you began with a square already, fold one diagonal line. Then fold two adjacent sides to the center so the edges meet at the center (as shown in 3).

4. The top “triangle” portion is folded behind the model.

5. Take the top edge and fold in toward the center. This is pretty much the same thing as when you’re making a paper airplane.

6. Unfold the previous folds in 5 and open one side. There is a new crease you will be making where my thumb is resting. The diagonal fold where my index finger is will fold and be brought down. You can see the process in 7 and 8.

9. When you have finished that you will have a separate layer that is shaped like a triangle. This is only showing the presence of a layer. Repeat on the other side as well.

image

10. When you have finished both sides fold the triangles up toward the top.

11. You will fold a small portion down.  This is up to you how much you want to fold. The part you fold down will become the bird’s feet. Repeat on both sides and then fold the layers back down as they were in 9.

12. This is how it should look.

13. Now mountain fold the model down the center. So, the way the paper is facing you now, do not fold it like you are closing a book. Instead fold the other way so you are creating a “mountain” out of the center.

13. Your bird should look like this if you folded the correct way. Otherwise, unfold and fold the other way.

14. I drew arbitrary (random) black lines where I wanted to fold. These can be up to you as well. The single top line is for the beak and the two lines to the right are for the tail. I suggest that you fold the beak a little further down and the two tail folds a little further apart than I have. You do NOT have to draw the lines in, unless you feel more comfortable doing so.

15. After you have folded and unfolded on all three of those lines begin to make them into the beak and tail. I began with the beak here. Open the model slightly and push down on the corner. This is the inside angle where my finger is on the outside and the blue writing is on the inside.

16. This shows another angle of the same thing. Push all the way in so you are folding directly on the folds you just created.

17. This should be how it looks when you folded all the way in. Depending on where you folded you may notice the beak does not stick out immediately. If you need to, pull the corner out slightly and refold.

18. I had to pull my beak out a bit so it showed. Since I folded so high up the beak is very small. The further down toward the feet the fold line is (my black line in 14) the bigger the beak will become.image

19. Now for the tail folds. The crease closest to the body will be a mountain fold. You want to fold the end of the tail in toward the body. The crease furthest from the body will be a valley fold. For this you will most likely open the model all the way instead of just a little.

20. This shows the valley fold for the second crease. In the end the point should be pointing out and now in toward the body.

21. When you have finished those two folds then mountain fold the body back together again as shown.

22. You are finished! Now you can rest your bird on the table and marvel at your newest creation!

I hope you enjoyed folding this cute little bird! Come back next week for more origami! Remember to leave any questions or comments below!

Until next time…

~Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on February 21, 2014, in Friday-gami, Origami and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

