Friday-gami: Origami Lotus

Today’s Friday-gami is the Origami Lotus.  This one is a fun little lotus you can make from paper or from a napkin at a restaurant if you want to leave an artistic impression.

If this is your first time here, welcome; if not, welcome back!  Now get out your paper and let’s get to it!

image

If you don’t have any square paper and need to make one from a rectangle, please refer to my Valentine’s Day Special.  That will give you a small tutorial on how to make a square from a rectangle.

image

Alright, onto the lotus!

1. Start with your square folded diagonally across both ways.

2. Fold all your corners into the center.  I showed only one folded in here so you know where to fold.  If will end up looking like 3.

4. Once all four corners are folded in, do it once more to create a second layer.

5. Flip your model over and fold all four corners in.  Yeah, it does kind of become a bit tedious after a while…haha.

6. This is the weird part. For me, the way I’ve shown is the easiest I know how to do it, but it is difficult to explain.  So here is my best attempt.  Unfold two adjacent “triangles” (as shown), which you can see popping up in 7.   When the model is flipped over (as in 8) you will push in at the center of the creases where my fingers are. You can see in 9 how I am pushing in to invert part of it.

image

*8. [okay, I’ll make a confession.  I was multitasking while making these pictures with the numbers. Therefore I had completely forgotten I had already made a box with 8 and 9. Go figure. So the asterisks mean nothing special…just proof I wasn’t paying complete attention. Hence my blog name!]  Here I am showing how the “inversion will look.  You do not need to crease these parts as they will crease themselves when you are finished with this process. You can see another angle in *9.

10. Fold the two “triangles” back down to the center as they originally were and you will see a piece sticking up in the middle.  11 and 12 show how it should look when you’ve finished.

13.If your middle part is not sticking up as far (as it might not sometimes) it is no problem.  Just hold where I am holding and gently pull on the outside.  Try not to pull too hard as you may rip it or pull it too far.  You’ll know when it’s gone too far and you will have to start the process over.  Trust me, though, it is not a bad thing for it to happen the first few, and sometimes many, times you attempt.  Origami sure does take practice and it’s no secret it takes hard work and patience!  🙂

14. When you have finished all four sides this should be how it looks.

image

15. Now flip the model over.  You will see four flaps.

16. Place your thumb in between two of the petals.  Underneath (shown in 17) place your index and middle finger under the flap and on your thumb.

18. Flip it back to the top, still holding the lotus between your fingers, and gently pull the flap out then up.  I want to stress the gently part.  This layer is so thin compared to the rest you are pulling against that it can tear easily.  So go slowly as you pull.  Repeat this for the remaining three flaps.

19. If you would like a reference for the flaps, look on the bottom.  You will notice the flaps will only pull to a certain point and stop.  If you pull past this they will start to tear.image

When you are all finished (which I’m sure you have finished a beautiful looking piece of art!) you will see you have two distinct layers.  In the photo above I have three layers.  If this is something you would like to do, go back to picture 4.  There we folded two layers and then flipped the model over.  Before you do this, fold a third layer.  Then proceed as usual until you reach 18.  Once you have finished this step you will see a second layer of flaps.  Fold these out as they will most likely rip if you try to pull them.  There you have all three layers!

image

All done!  Look at yours and how beautiful it is!  For this model, if you are wondering, double sided paper should not make a difference.  You will only see one side’s color.

Remember, origami is fun, but also takes plenty of practice.  And it’s like they say “Practice makes perfect!”  So please do not get discouraged if it doesn’t turn out exactly how you envisioned it would!  Just keep at it and I promise it will become easier with time and devotion.

I hope you enjoyed everything taught here today and come back next week to learn something new!

Until next time…

~Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on February 14, 2014, in Friday-gami, Origami and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

