DIY Pen Caddy

I seem to have a small obssession with pens. Okay, maybe it is a bit more than small, but I digress.

For all the pens and markers and pencils and- sorry got a bit carried away there. For all those great writing utensils just lying around the house I needed a pen caddy to keep them organized. Being the semi-crafty mom that I am, I found some boxes at the local Post Office and an Enfamil box that housed three refill pouches and made one. Here is what it looked like in the end:

image

Now, I’m not one for decorating. So you will see some very undecorative things on here. It’s not that I don’t enjoy something fun looking, it’s just that my little one usually has impeccable timing and wakes up just when I am about to begin that stage. So I have learned to live with plain, undecorative pieces of work. At least it is a finished product, right? (^-^)

image

Materials:
Five (5) boxes measuring ID: 5.375 x 8.625 x 1.625 (according to the box)
Scissors
An Enfamil 3 pack refill box (I found this one at Sam’s Club)

The boxes don’t have a snug fit so if you choose to you may glue them together. I found they don’t move around too much in there, though.

image

I measured by eye how high to cut the insert boxes and kept the leftover piece of the first one as a template for the rest. Save the other leftovers for later!

image

To be sure the lid would close the insert boxes were cut somewhat shorter than the top instead of keeping them flush.

image

*NOTE*: Be sure to cut the boxes so the adhesive end is still intact. This makes it much easier to close the box.

image

The lid shuts just fine! I fit 5 boxes inside. You may rearrange them in any fashion you see fit. Now remember I told you to save those other leftovers…did you? Great! You can cut them up to make internal dividers.

image

You can see the front has one dividing the markers and the pens. I rather like this since there aren’t too many pens and the markers fell all over before I put it in.

image

As a bonus cut up one more box the same as the inner ones and glue it to the side for extra storage. Maybe for paper or a notepad?

I hope you enjoyed this little tutorial! Until next time…

~ Kristen

About Three Handed Mommy

Mother of one, wife to one. Hoping for more children in the future but so far I'm a three handed mommy. One hand is in school, another in loving my family, the last is on here (and all that comes with it). I love origami and I doodle once in a blue moon. Maybe I will share some drawings, both old and new. I have a slight obsession with Hatake Kakashi, Batman, rubber duckies, pandas, and Pokemon. Then again, my obsession may prove to be more than slight on more than one occassion...don't judge. :P Since this is new and all to me, please bear with me while I find my rhythm and posting habits. Hope you enjoy what I put up here! Feel free to pin anything unless stated otherwise in a post. :)

Posted on January 25, 2014, in DIY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know your thoughts!

